Shrewsbury Swears in Councilmen, 2013 Fire Officers

The borough held its annual reorganization on Monday.

Shrewsbury officials and residents were in jovial spirits Monday as they came together to swear in this year's Borough Council members and volunteers in fire and first aid.

Mayor Donald Burden officiated the swearing in of each, beginning with Councilmen Jeffery DeSalvo and Anthony Pellegrino, both Republicans who won their seats by wide margins.

Councilman Tom Menapace was appointed to continue his tenure as council president.

"There is no better way to learn about local government than to participate in it," he told the audience of family and friends who had gathered for the occasion.

Boy Scout Troop 50 led the placing of the colors and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Burden then lead the swearing in of this year's fire and first aid officers, many of whom were accompanied by their spouses.

In order of appearance, they are:

  • Fire Chief Pete Gibson
  • 1st Assistant Chief Rob Neis
  • 2nd Assistant Chief Bruce McDonald
  • First Aid Captain Donald Eddy
  • 1st Lt. David Tyler
  • 2nd Lt. Michael Aufiero
  • Engineer J. Chris Bell

For more news and updates about Red Bank and Shrewsbury, subscribe to our free newsletter, "like" us on Facebook or follow @RedBankPatch on Twitter.

ExChief January 08, 2013 at 03:22 PM
Congrats to all especially you Rob Neis


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something